Family Football Pool: Call to Arms


I’m throwing down the gauntlet.

I’m going to win the family football pool this year.

How do I know this? It’s science.

That’s right, I’ve decided to use science to make my mark this year. I don’t have a TV subscription and barely watch any games, but I’ve been working on a computer algorithm to analyze stats from all the college teams. As the season goes on, I’m using the updated stats to make my algorithm better. The plan is that by the time bowl season comes around, I’ll be able to accurately predict the winners, thus claiming victory in the football pool.

In actuality, this is a huge experiment and mostly a lesson in honing skills I need for my work. But I thought a fun application in the meantime would be just the right motivation to work on my python programming and statistics knowledge. If it works and I’m able to apply it to something in real life, that will be awesome!

But consider yourself warned, family. I hope you’re honing your betting skills.

7 thoughts on “Family Football Pool: Call to Arms

  1. I do watch a lot of college football, but I make sentimental bets (MSU, UM, Notre Dame) or take the experts’ picks. However, I will try to be more diligent in readint the sports section!

    Like

  2. My betting is a combination of Anne’s techniques and Ellen’s. I know someone who went there, I like the name of the coach, I’ve been to that state and on and on…It is sort of scientific and I am usually right–I expect to lose and I do! Good luck, Gail–maybe I’ll put my money on you this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

