November garden update


Last night was the first Austin frost of the season, about a month ahead of schedule. I’m sorry to say I hadn’t been paying much attention to my garden recently anyway, and hadn’t even filled out the space I have. But hearing of the frost, I went out to survey the situation yesterday.

fall-garden-austin-half-full

My garden now is mainly pole beans, basil, and squash. My carrots and peas floundered, my flowers never came up, and I never got around to planting garlic, although I might still have time for that if it warms up again.

squash-austin-texas-november

My pole beans filled out their teepee well, and grew the full 12 feet or so to the top of the bamboo. The beans have just started coming in, though, so I have yet to harvest. I like the idea of the teepee, but I’ll need to use more poles next time, since the structure has became a sail in the wind as the leaves filled in. It’s far too big to worry about protecting from the frost, so I did the next best thing to covering them: I crossed my fingers they would make it through an hour or two at 32 degrees.

enormous-pole-bean-teepee

My basil has been doing decently, too. The 4 plants I have outside are the biggest I’ve been able to grow so far. When I’m on top of things, they were keeping up just fine with a new batch of pesto every 10 days or so. Unfortunately I’ve heard that they’re very susceptible to the cold. I have yet to check how they did, but I took some precautions yesterday.

late-fall-basil

The first step was to harvest as much basil as I could, in case of the inevitable. I filled a large mixing bowl which went inside to be frozen, dried, or turned into pesto.

Next, I made a meager attempt to cover the plants to protect them from frost, using the best option I had available: canvas shopping bags. Back in March, the City of Austin banned disposable plastic bags. And so I’ve amassed a collection of the reusable kind. I chose 5 of the thickest ones I had and did my best to cover my basil.

harvested-basil-austin

The result featured an NEDP bag that I must have “borrowed” from my mom a while ago and a throwback to Gale Research Company and the dawn of the information highway. This is why I don’t throw things out.

austin-basil-reusable-bags-frost-ready

There are certainly better alternatives for covering plants. Of course there’s someone who will sell you frost cloth for this specific purpose that can sit in your garage the rest of the year. I hear bed sheets can work, though I have only one set of sheets and I wasn’t about to strip down my freshly-laundered bed for the sake of my half-maintained garden.

After the sun comes up I’ll go survey the damage and uncover the basil so it can warm up today. Hopefully I won’t also have to recover 30 bean pants that sailed en masse into a neighbor’s yard.

7 thoughts on “November garden update

  1. Your garden is lookin’ good. Likewise that bowl of basil. I freeze my pesto in an ice cube tray, store the cubes in the freezer in a plastic bag, and pop out a cube or two of pesto whenever I need it. Hope your frost protection worked. Hey, one of those canvas bags looks MIGHTY familiar.

    Like

    • Well, I’d like to add something wise to this discussion, but I’m the one who did not inherit Mom’s green thumb. So I’ll just speculate on whether your neighbors will ask you why you’re cultivating all those lovely cloth bags in your garden….BTW, are you also going to can the beans, if they survive? That’s another talent I lack!

      Like

    • I’ve heard that freezing it as pesto is one of the best ways to preserve basil. I might do that if I get another batch, but in the meantime this was the lowest-hassle thing to do (even though pesto is pretty ridiculously easy to make).

      And thanks for the bag (from 20 years ago…).

      Like

Leave a Reply

