Gratitude


I’m in California for Thanksgiving! Brian and I joined some of his friends for a pot luck “Friendsgiving” in the Oakland hills. I met a lot of new people (and a cute puppy!) and enjoyed a LOT of good food. The beautiful sunset “didn’t suck” either, as one of the potlucker-goers would say.


DSC07043

I’m often grateful for the wonderful people in my life as well as the fortunate course my life has taken over time, but more this year than ever. Over the past year I’ve had an incredible number of opportunities that have led me to work hard, travel a lot, and be on the receiving end of a lot of love.

I went to Antarctica, New Zealand, and Norway for the first time. That’s not to mention visiting and revisiting lots of great locations stateside, from Charleston to Monterey. I finished my Master’s of Science, which was both a grueling and eye-opening experience. I’m now on my way to a PhD and while I occasionally wonder why I’m putting myself through writing a thesis for the third time, I know that in the end I’ll thank myself.

I’m thankful for a lot of great friends, new and old, who make my life better in innumerable ways. I’m thankful for family who support me, remind me of where I come from, and generally teach me a lot of life lessons. And as always, I’m incredibly thankful for a best friend and significant other who broadens my horizons and makes me a better person.

Most of all, I’m grateful for a year that’s taught me that, though time always feels like it passes too quickly, time is love. It’s always worth taking the time to be with those who bring out the best in us.

One thought on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

