STL


st-louis-arch-gateway-to-the-west

I spent St. Patrick’s Day at the Gateway to the West: St. Louis, Missouri. A pretty good spot to spend it, in my opinion.

 I got in fairly late, but my hotel was right downtown across from the St. Louis Arch. It had been about 10 years since I was in STL, so it was fun to see it again if only briefly. I stayed at the Drury Inn, which was formerly the International Fur Exchange.

drury-inn-at-the-arch-international-fur exchange

The lobby has a very neat display about the historic Lewis and Clark expedition to explore the American west. There are several life-size sculptures of the main characters — Lewis, Clark, Sacagawea, York, and even Lewis’s dog, Seaman. A working fountain forms the river around which they explorers are gathered.

drury-inn-lobby-lewis-and-clark

After settling in, I wandered around to find a delicious meal worthy of the holiday and ended up in Tigin’s Irish Pub at Washington and 4th.

tigin-irish-pub-stl

It. Was. Amazing.

There was live music in a tent outside for the occasion. Inside, more mainstream celtic-inspired music was playing. The place was hopping, but the staff was great. And the lamb sandwich. Oh, the lamb sandwich. I highly recommend this place.

tigin-st-patricks-day-lamb-sandwich

I had only a quick trip this time around, but St. Louis is a charming older city with a lot of character.

And in case you needed another reason to visit, St. Louis is turning 250 years old in 2014. There are a lot of these cake decorations set up around town in honor of the “Cakeway to the West”. You can check out the full calendar of special birthday events happening this year on the STL 250 website.

st-louis-is-250-years-old

6 thoughts on “STL

  1. I’ve never been to St. Louis, but it sounds like I’d better plan a trip. Thr pub looks like the place to have a bit. I don’t even like lamb, but your picture made it look delicious!

    Like

  2. I’m late to the party. Gail, but enjoyed your St. Patrick’s Day report from St. Louis. No green beer, no corn beef and cabbage — you’ve got the drill down perfectly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

