Pumpkin Carving


I learned during my first year in Texas that this far south, pumpkin carving does not happen a few weeks before Halloween like it does up north. That year my pumpkin turned an interesting shade of green and, I swear, melted into a pile of goop.

pumpkin

You don’t have to tell me twice.This year I think I got it right. I waited until Monday, a mere 3 days before Halloween, to even buy a pumpkin.

pumpkin-goop-scoop

This had the added benefit of a 50% discount. Who knew! Perhaps I should have guessed by the sheer number of pumpkins left at the grocery store. They’re gonna be in trouble with all those come Friday.

pumpkin-top

I had a vision for my pumpkin from the start. I debated downloading an elaborate template to make something to really wow people. But to be honest, I wasn’t feeling that ambitious. So I settled for an easier and yet way more obvious option: Texas.

texas-pumpkin-ted-talk

I think I made a wise choice in printing out a template. I could picture the deformed blob that would have resulted without it. I also needed some entertainment along the way, so I watched an interesting TED talk about the Higgs boson while imparting my state pride to this unsuspecting gourd. If you haven’t discovered TED talks yet, fix that.

texas-pumpkin

A simple outline was the way to go. This guy was done in no time. I made sure to give it a test drive to see how it turned out. I’d call this a success!

texas-pumpkin-glow

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Carving

  1. Wow, Gail, that’s fantastic! Maybe you’ll start a trend—Michigan would be easy to do, for instance. Let us know how many comments you get tomorrow night when people see it all lit up!

    Like

  2. Looks great, Gail. Now I wish I’d bought a pumpkin. Maybe there’s still time — they ought to be about 75% off by now.
    And I have seen several TED talks. Wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

